The Benoziyo Center for Astrophysics invites highly qualified candidates to apply for the 3-year Benoziyo Prize Postdoctoral Fellowship.
Benoziyo Fellows conduct independent research as part of the Astrophysics group within the Department of Particle Physics and Astrophysics at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel. Fellows can pursue research in theoretical, numerical, observational or experimental astrophysics, and have full access to all the resources available to the astrophysics group, including full membership of the Palomar Transient Factory (PTF) and its ZTF successor, the Xenon 1000 dark matter experiment, and the UltraSat UV space mission, as well as extensive computational facilities. Fellows are encouraged to collaborate with faculty members working on supermassive black holes, stellar dynamics, accretion, gravitational wave sources and the Galactic center (Alexander), observations of cosmic explosions (Gal-Yam), few body dynamics and theory of supernovae (Katz), theory of supernovae, sources of gravitational waves and cosmic-rays (Kushnir), alternative gravity theories (Milgrom), observations of transients, gravitational lensing, and small solar-system bodies (Ofek), and theoretical high-energy astrophysics (Waxman). The group works in close collaboration with the experimental astro-particle and dark matter groups (Budnik, Gross, Duchovni, Breskin, Landsman), theoretical astro particle group (Nir, Perez) and the planetary science group (Aharonson).

Included Benefits: Basic benefits are as detailed on Feinberg Graduate School's postdoctoral fellowships webpage. Prize fellowship holders will receive some additional living expenses assistance, and an additional annual research allowance of $15,000 to support their independent research.


2022-2023 Application period is now open.
Application deadline Nov 15, 2022

Current Fellows

  • Na'ama Hallakoun
    Na'ama Hallakoun
  • Ping Chen
  • Sahar Shahaf

Past Fellows

  • Kenny Ng
    2016 - 2019
    Staff, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Yi Yang
  • Sladjana Knezevic
    2014 - 2017
    Staff, Belgrade Observatory
  • Paul Vreeswijk
    2013 - 2017
    Staff, Radboud University
  • Assistant prof.
    Benny Trakhtenbrot
    2012 - 2013
    Tel Aviv University
  • Carlos Badenes
    2010 - 2013
    Associate Professor, University of Pittsburgh
  • Idel Waisberg
    2019 - 2023